Governor Lombardo Announces the Graduation of Class 18 of the Nevada Certified Public Manager Program Today

CARSON CITY, NV – April 06, 2023

Today, Governor Joe Lombardo is pleased to announce the graduation of Class 18 of the Nevada Certified Public Manager (NVCPM) Program. The 34 graduates from across the state represent 13 State agencies, 2 State Boards, 2 local government entities, and 2 institutions from the Nevada System of Higher Education. A graduation ceremony was held this afternoon in the Old Assembly Chambers in the State Capitol building.

“It’s exciting to celebrate the eighteenth graduating class of the Nevada Certified Public Manager (NVCPM) Program today,” said Governor Joe Lombardo. “I’m proud of these graduates, and I know they will continue to do outstanding work in their leadership and service to our state.”

Administered by the Division of Human Resource Management’s Office of Employee Development, the NVCPM Program is one of 38 nationally recognized and nationally accredited leadership development programs for public managers. Since starting in 2005, Nevada’s CPM Program has produced over 658 graduates, many of whom are currently working in state and local government agencies. Applications for future enrollment are accepted annually in the spring. For more information about the CPM Program, please visit:

NVCPM participants complete a capstone project as part of the 18-month program. Participants lead teams on projects that increase efficiencies or result in cost savings for their agencies. These capstone projects have resulted in more than $48 million in savings for the state since the program’s inception. This year alone, the estimated annual savings is more than $946,663 and a reduction in over 164,676 employee hours for more efficient service delivery. Several highlights from this year’s capstone projects include:

  • A participant in the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources created a comprehensive budget tracking system – saving $30,000 in time spent on correcting errors with the old legacy system. The new tracker worked so well that the participant replicated the solution with two other bureaus to bring even more efficiency to their processes.

  • A participant in the Washoe County District Attorney's Office worked to standardize case management processes used in the court system – thereby decreasing help desk tickets by over 50% and increasing the accuracy of records by 70%.

  • A Department of Taxation participant identified a more efficient way for tax examiners to research answers to taxpayer questions by consolidating statutes, regulations, court orders, and decisions into a centralized database which will save $545,805 annually and improve consultation accuracy.

  • A participant from the Department of Business and Industry’s Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) initiated a case file digitalization project that will save the State of Nevada between $16,000 to 17,000 per year going forward.

  • A Nevada Gaming Control board participant increased the efficiency of its Background Investigations unit to help it complete investigations up to 16 days quicker by streamlining administrative processes – helping agents conduct more investigations per year with greater stakeholder satisfaction.

Congratulations to the CPM Class 18 graduates:

  • Angel Ambere, Department of Transportation
  • Shannon Bennett, Department of Health and Human Services
  • Trina Bourke, Department of Employment, Training and Rehabilitation
  • Katie Bradley, Department of Conservation and Natural Resources
  • Daryl Brown, Department of Health and Human Services
  • Denise Burton, Department of Education
  • Todd Carl, State Public Charter School Authority
  • Chris Carrello, Department of Taxation
  • Steven Conner, City of Henderson
  • Zachary Cord, Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Heather Crawford-Ferre, Department of Education
  • Daphne DeLeon, Department of Tourism and Cultural Affairs
  • Marc Edwards, Gaming Control Board
  • Sharon Flanary, Washoe County
  • Andrea Fountain, Cannabis Control Board
  • William Gardner, Department of Business and Industry
  • Esther Gregurek, Department of Health and Human Services
  • Jared Hoopes, Gaming Control Board
  • Sabrina Jackson, Department of Health and Human Services
  • Baillie Keach, Department of Transportation
  • Deanna Lara, Clark County School District
  • Jinna Larkin, Department of Wildlife
  • Tim Lindley, Nevada Public Employees Benefits Program
  • Frances Mason, Nevada Athletic Commission
  • Michael Means, Eight Judicial District Court (Clark County)
  • Candice Nishizawa, Gaming Control Board
  • Yvan Pittmon, Department of Public Safety
  • Alejandro Ruiz, Department of Health and Human Services
  • Schelia Shinno, Department of Health and Human Services
  • Amanda Silva, Department of Public Safety
  • Madison Siqueiros, Gaming Control Board
  • Michelle Weyland, Nevada Public Employees Benefits Program
  • Viva Wells, Department of Health and Human Services
  • Christopher Whitton, Gaming Control Board



Elizabeth Ray
Communications Director