Governor Sisolak Announces Ten Appointments to Board on Indigent Defense Services & Names Executive Director

CARSON CITY, NV - November 05, 2019

Today, Governor Steve Sisolak announced that he has made ten appointments to the new Board on Indigent Defense Services (BIDS), plus an executive director.

“I am excited to announce that I’ve made ten appointments to the new Board of Indigent Defense Services, which will provide needed oversight of legal defense for those who cannot afford lawyers,” Governor Sisolak said. “Indigent defense has gotten short shrift in Nevada for far too long, and I am thrilled to see that we will finally be adopting consistent standards and regulations to protect defendants’ constitutional right to receive fair and competent legal representation.”

BIDS, which was created by Assembly Bill 81 this past legislative session, will create standards for the delivery of indigent services and representation throughout the state and will oversee the state Department of Indigent Services. BIDS consists of 13 voting members and up to three non-voting members, who are each appointed to three-year terms. Each appointed member has demonstrated experience providing legal representation to indigent persons who are charged with public offenses or to children who are alleged to be delinquent or in need of supervision. Also, each member has signified commitment to providing effective legal representation to indigent persons. BIDS represents appointees throughout the Silver State with members who live in Nye, Carson City, Elko, Humboldt, Washoe, and Clark Counties.

In addition to his appointments to the Board, the Governor also announced that Marcie Ryba has been hired as the Executive Director of the state Department of Indigent Services.

The Governor’s appointments to the board are listed below:

  • Julie Cavanaugh-Bill (Elko)
  • Joni Eastley (Nye)
  • Laura Fitzsimmons (Carson City)
  • Robert Crowell (Carson City)
  • David Mendiola (Humboldt)
  • Lorinda Wichmann (Nye)
  • Drew Christensen (Clark)
  • Jeff Wells (Clark)
  • Kate Thomas (Washoe)
  • Robert Telles (Clark)

The Speaker, Majority Leader, and Chief Justice of the Nevada Supreme Court are designated to appoint the additional three members to the board.



Ryan McInerney
Communications Director