Federal Lost Wages Assistance (LWA) Program
Earlier this month, the President signed an executive order creating the LWA program, replacing the Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation (FPUC) $600 weekly benefit that expired in July. Like many states who are applying for this program, Nevada will seek the additional $300 for those that qualify but anticipates not being able to contribute the additional $100 per week due to budget concerns.
Funding for this program comes from FEMA disaster relief funds. Guidance from FEMA and the U.S. Department of Labor indicates that states should be able to receive approximately three weeks’ worth of benefits upon approval, with additional approval on a weekly basis, depending on the remaining balance of the fund.
Nevadans who are unemployed or partially unemployed due to COVID-19 and are currently receiving at least $100 per week in unemployment benefits from one of the following programs will be eligible to receive $300 a week in LWA funds, if Nevada’s application is approved:
o State Unemployment Compensation
o Unemployment Compensation for Federal Employees (UCFE)
o Unemployment Compensation for Ex-Service members (UCX)
o Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation (PEUC)
o Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA)
o Extended Benefits (EB)
o Trade Readjustment Allowance (TRA)
For more information on this program, LWA Program Q&A
Backdating your Claim
How do I backdate my claim?If you are already filing on an existing claim or if you are filing a new claim and you would like to backdate to the date you were affected by the pandemic, there will be a link that will appear after logging into UInv's Claimant Self-Service system to submit the request. Follow the instructions after clicking on the link and read all advisories listed on the page. Once your backdate request is approved, you will need to file weekly claims for the week(s) requested.NOTE: It is important to request a backdate on your claim via the UInv portal rather than call in to the call center, if possible. Calling in to the call center for a backdate on your claim may cause a delay in receiving your benefits.
What if I do not see a link to backdate my claim online?
The link does not appear on all claims. Combined Wage Claims (CWC), claims using Federal (UCFE) or Military (UCX) wages, for example, will not display a link for a backdate request. Claims with a current open issue or a disqualifying issue will not be provided the backdate link at this time due to the complexity of those claims. The agency is continuing to work on programming for these various claim situations to allow for online backdate requests. Until that functionality is available online, claimants who are not presented with the backdate link will have to call into the Telephone Claims Center for assistance.
Occasionally, benefits are improperly paid. Overpayments may occur for a variety of reasons that may include, but are not limited to, claimant error, appeal reversals, fraud, failure to report earnings or income, or Division errors. All overpaid benefits must be repaid to the Division. If you are not at fault for creation of the overpayment, the Division may withhold your weekly benefit entitlement and apply that amount to repay the overpayment. You may be eligible for a reduced weekly withholding. Contact the Benefit Payment Control Collections office at (775) 684-0475 to discuss your eligibility for this option.
The CARES Act
Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA):
Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA): PUA is a temporary federal program called Pandemic Unemployment Assistance that is part of the CARES Act. PUA is available February 2, 2020 through December 26, 2020. PUA provides up to 39 weeks of benefits to qualifying individuals who do not have regular UI, Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation (PEUC) or State Extended Benefits (SEB) eligibility, and are otherwise able to work and available for work within the meaning of applicable state UI law, except they are unemployed, partially employed, or unable or unavailable to work due to a COVID-19 related reason. For more information on who would be potentially eligible for PUA, please view the graphic below and visit https://cms.detr.nv.gov/Content/Media/PUA_FAQs-1.0.pdf.
Status: The new system for PUA is now available and accepting applications. Please visit employnv.gov for more information on these benefits and how to apply. Payments are now being issued and the adjudication center for PUA claims is now open.
The new filing system will be independent of the traditional Unemployment Insurance (UI) system and will facilitate a streamlined method for the public to file for PUA benefits. Claimants will have a dedicated call center for all PUA related questions with a new phone number: 1-800-603-9681.
Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation (PEUC):
13 additional weeks of benefits for those who have exhausted their unemployment insurance benefits.
Status: As of May 10, 2020. The Division has implemented the PEUC program.
Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation (FPUC):
An additional $600 added to each week of unemployment insurance or Pandemic Unemployment Assistance.
Status: FPUC payments expired the week ending July 25, 2020.