



## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE March 31, 2020

CONTACT: Meghin Delaney Public Information Officer <u>mdelaney@nvhealthresponse.nv.gov</u>

## Governor Sisolak signs directive related to legal proceedings, permits, and licenses

Carson City, NV – Today, Nevada Governor Steve Sisolak signed an emergency directive related to the extension of deadlines that may come due during the state of emergency.

This directive extends the time Nevadans have to file legal complaints for issues where the statute of limitations may come due during the state of emergency, when courts are closed, or less accessible.

"Due to the COVID-19 public health crisis, Nevada residents are facing restricted travel and should not be penalized for doing the right thing and staying home," said Governor Sisolak. "With this order, Nevadans don't have to worry about losing legal rights while they focus on staying healthy."

All licenses and permits issued by the State of Nevada or by local jurisdictions that are set to expire during this state of emergency have been extended 90 days either from their current expiration date or 90 days after the state of emergency is lifted, whichever is later.

Finally, any person whose annual business license renewal fee is due during the declaration of emergency will have a 60-day grace period after the end of the state of emergency to file, renew, and pay their dues. Penalties on these licenses will not accrue for late payment.

This is the ninth emergency directive signed by Governor Sisolak since a state of emergency was declared on March 12, 2020.