Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act (CARES)

The Governor's office, in collaboration with the Department of Employment, Training and Rehabilitation, is working around the clock to implement the unemployment insurance programs outlined in the CARES Act of 2020. We are committed to ensuring you receive the most up to date information pertaining to these benefits. Below we have summarized the major unemployment provisions of the CARES Act.

ŮI

•TRADITIONAL UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE (UI) IN NEVADA

• Provides unemployment benefits to workers who are unemployed through no fault of their own and who meet work and wage requirements based on a percentage of an individual's earnings over a recent 52-week period - up to a State maximum amount of \$469.

PEUC

PANDEMIC EMERGENCY UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION (Section 2104)

• Provides an additional 13 weeks of state's UI benefits which becomes available after a worker has exhausted all of their Nevada UI benefits.

FPUC

• FEDERAL PANDEMIC UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION (Section 2104)

• For weeks of benefits between March 29 and July 25, 2020, all regular UI and PUA claimants will receive their usual calculated benefit plus an additional \$600/week.

PUA

PANDEMIC UNEMPLOYMENT ASSISTANCE (Section 2102)

- Provides assistance to workers who do not qualify for state UI because they have used all available benefits, or are otherwise ineligible for regular UI.
- •Includes self-employed, independent contractors, freelancers, workers without a long enough work history, workers at religious institutions, and workers at nonprofits organized under religious institutions.

Traditional Unemployment Insurance (UI) Benefits in Nevada

WHO IS COVERED?

- Workers who are unemployed through no fault of their own, who meet work and wage
- Individuals who are unable to work or those who do not have a recent earnings history do not qualify.
- Individuals whose wages are only from self-employment, from work as independent contractors, or from non-covered employment **do not qualify**.

HOW CAN YOU ACCESS YOUR BENEFITS?

- You can apply through the Department of Employment, Training and Rehabilitation's Unemployment Insurance Claim Filing System (UInv) (http://ui.nv.gov/css.html).
- You will need to file an "initial claim" to begin your unemployment insurance application, then file a series of weekly claims to report any earnings and other activity related to your claims.
- Claimants should review the Nevada claimant handbook for important details (http://ui.nv.gov/Handbooks/uinv_handbook.htm) and guide to online filing (http://ui.nv.gov/PDFS/UINV_Claimant_Guide.pdf).

WHEN CAN YOU ACCESS YOUR BENEFITS?

- Unemployed workers can apply upon being furloughed or laid off.
- Claims are paid following the submission of weekly claims for benefits.
- Claimants should monitor their profile on UINV for notifications of issues with their claim that require further information and may delay payment.

AMOUNT OF ASSISTANCE

- Benefits are based on a percentage of an individual's earnings over a recent 52-week period up to a State maximum amount of \$469.
- Currently, the claimants weekly benefit amount is being augmented by \$600.00 from the

The easiest and fastest way to <u>file an unemployment claim is online</u> at <u>http://ui.nv.gov/css.html</u>. For those unable to file online, you can reach the **Call Centers** at:

North: (775) 684-0350 | South: (702) 486-0350 | Rural: (888) 890-8211

The newly established call center can assist with general question. Operation hours will mirror the state's current expanded UI call center hours of Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Toll-free hotline: (800) 603-9671

Due to the high volume of calls and limited staff capacity at the call centers, we encourage Nevadans to file online!

PANDEMIC EMERGENCY UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION (PEUC)

STATUS IN NEVADA

The Department of Employment, Training and Rehabilitation (DETR) is currently working to implement this program. If you are currently receiving unemployment benefits, no action is necessary. Once the program is implemented, and your UI or PUA claim is exhausted, you will receive an additional 13 weeks of eligibility. The amount will be backdated to the earliest week of eligibility.

WHO IS COVERED?

- A worker who has **exhausted** all state and federal UI, for any benefit year that ended since July 1, 2019.
- Worker must be able to work and actively seek work, subject to Governor's guidance on work search requirements. Currently, in Nevada, Governor Sisolak has waived these requirements.

What is considered exhaustion of UI for PEUC eligibility?

- No payments of regular compensation can be made because an individual has received all regular compensation available.
- Such individual's rights to such compensation have been terminated by reason of the expiration of the benefit year.

HOW CAN YOU ACCESS YOUR BENEFITS?

 Continue to file weekly claims for UI benefits. Once available, eligibility will be added to existing UI claims.

WHEN CAN YOU ACCESS YOUR BENEFITS?

Monitor DETR's website for updates on PEUC programming.

AMOUNT OF ASSISTANCE

- Amount of regular compensation (including dependent's allowance).
- Augmented by the \$600.00 from the

FEDERAL PANDEMIC UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION (FPUC)

STATUS IN NEVADA

The Department of Employment, Training and Rehabilitation (DETR) has implemented this program. If you are currently receiving unemployment benefits, no action is necessary. Claimants should begin seeing these payments this week (week of 4/12/2020). Please be patient as it will take several days to reach all recipients. You will receive an additional \$600 per week added to your weekly benefit amount. The amount will be backdated to the earliest week of eligibility.

WHO IS COVERED?

- Any worker eligible for state and federal UI.
- Any worker eligible for Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA).
- Applies to weeks of benefits starting March 29, 2020 and ending July 25, 2020.

HOW CAN YOU ACCESS YOUR BENEFITS?

• Continue to file regular weekly claims in UI or PUA, as appropriate. Benefits will automatically be added to eligible weeks with no further action required.

WHEN CAN YOU ACCESS YOUR BENEFITS?

This program has been implemented and claimants should begin seeing these payments this
week (week of 4/12/2020). Please be patient as it will take several days to reach all recipients.

AMOUNT OF ASSISTANCE

• Eligible individuals will receive an additional \$600.00/week added to their weekly regular UI benefit or PUA benefit.

PANDEMIC UNEMPLOYMENT ASSISTANCE (PUA)

This provision begins on or after January 27, 2020 and expires on December 31, 2020 as long as individual's unemployment, partial employment, or inability to work caused by COVID-19 continues.

STATUS IN NEVADA

Nevada has selected a vendor for a call center which will assist with administering intake into the PUA program.

Nevada is looking at vendors to administer a PUA system, while working on program details to provide necessary guidance, training, and technical support to stand-up this independent unemployment assistance program.

WHO IS COVERED?

- Workers who are not eligible for regular UI or extended benefits under state or federal law, including PEUC.
- Workers who are self-employed, seeking part-time employment, those who do not have enough work history, or otherwise would not qualify for any unemployment insurance benefits.
- Individuals who can telework with pay or individuals who are receiving paid sick leave and other leave benefits, regardless if individual has met the self-certificated criteria below, **are not covered.**

For both covered cases, individuals MUST provide Self-Certification as to why they are unable to work because of the following instances:

- Individual diagnosed with COVID-19, individual asked to self-quarantine by healthcare providers, individual providing care for family member diagnosed with COVD-19, or primary caregiver to a child/other person in household diagnosed with COVID-19.
- Individual not being able to reach place of employment because of quarantine, individual had to quit his or her job because of COVID-19, individual's work has been closed due to COVID-19, or those scheduled to commence employment but were not able to reach the job because of COVID-19.
- Individual has become direct breadwinner because former breadwinner died due to COVID-19.
- The individual meets any additional criteria established by the Secretary for unemployment assistance under this section, *including independent contractors who have been forced to suspend operations due to COVID-19.*

Individuals are covered for up to 39 weeks, less any weeks of unemployment insurance received.

How are these 39 weeks calculated? The total of the 39 weeks shall include any weeks that the
individual has received regular compensation or extended benefits under any federal or state law.

HOW CAN YOU ACCESS YOUR BENEFITS?

- Monitor DETR's website for the implementation of Pandemic Unemployment Assistance in Nevada.
- Gather documentation of income such as 1099s, W2s, or pay stubs.
- Apply for Pandemic Unemployment Assistance once this program is available. Do not apply using the traditional UI system.

WHEN CAN YOU ACCESS YOUR BENEFITS?

PUA benefits will be available once the system is implemented.

AMOUNT OF ASSISTANCE

- Based on the weekly benefit amount under Nevada unemployment compensation law.
- Benefits are based on earnings during calendar year 2019.
- Benefit may not be more than \$469, nor less than \$183.

•