101 NORTH CARSON STREET Carson City, Nevada 89701 Office: (775) 684-5670 Fax No.: (775) 684-5683



555 EAST WASHINGTON AVENUE, SUITE 5100 LAS VEGAS, NEVADA 89101 Office: (702) 486-2500 Fax No.: (702) 486-2505

Office of the Governor

June 3, 2023

The Honorable Nicole Cannizzaro Majority Leader of the Nevada State Senate Nevada Legislature 401 South Carson Street Carson City, Nevada 89701

Re: Senate Bill 302 of the 82nd Legislative Session

Dear Leader Cannizzaro:

I am forwarding to you, for filing within the time limit set forth in the Nevada Constitution and without my approval, Senate Bill 302 ("SB 302"), which is titled as follows:

AN ACT relating to health care; prohibiting health care licensing boards from taking certain action against a provider of health care or certain other persons for providing or assisting in the provision of gender-affirming health care services; prohibiting the Governor from surrendering, or issuing an arrest warrant for, a person who is charged in another state with a criminal violation related to gender-affirming health care services; prohibiting state agencies, local governments and members of the judiciary from assisting in certain investigations and proceedings initiated in other states related to gender-affirming health care services; requiring certain health care licensing boards to examine the feasibility of reciprocal licensure for health care providers who provide gender-affirming health care services in other states; and providing other matters properly relating thereto.

SB 302 inhibits the Executive Branch's ability to be certain that all gender-affirming care related to minors comports with State law. It also decreases the Executive Branch's authority to ensure the highest public health and child safety standards for Nevadans. As such, I cannot support it.

For these reasons, I veto this bill and return it without my signature or approval.

///

|||

|||

Respectfully submitted,

JOE LOMBARDO

Governor of Nevada

Enclosure

cc: The Honorable Stavros Anthony, President of the Senate (without enclosure) The Honorable Steve Yeager, Speaker of the Assembly (without enclosure) The Honorable Francisco Aguilar, Secretary of State (without enclosure) Brendan Bucy, Secretary of the Senate (without enclosure) Susan Furlong, Chief Clerk of the Assembly (without enclosure) Brenda Erdoes, Esq., Legislative Counsel Bureau, Director (without enclosure) Bryan Fernley, Esq., Legislative Counsel (without enclosure)