## 101 NORTH CARSON STREET

CARSON CITY, NEVADA 89701-3713

OFFICE: (775) 684-5670



1 STATE OF NEVADA WAY

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA 89119-4339

OFFICE: (702) 486-2500

## Office of the Governor

June 2, 2025

The Honorable Nicole Cannizzaro
Majority Leader of the Nevada State Senate
401 South Carson Street
Carson City, Nevada 89701

Re: Senate Bill 301 of the 83rd Legislative Session

Dear Leader Cannizzaro:

I am forwarding to you, for filing within the time limit set forth in the Nevada Constitution and without my approval, Senate Bill 301 ("SB 301"), which is titled as follows:

AN ACT relating to public employees; revising the definition of "employee," for purposes of collective bargaining for state employees, to include category I, II and III peace officers in the unclassified service of the State; and providing other matters properly relating thereto.

In last session's veto message for Senate Bill 319 (SB 319)—an identical bill to SB 301—I clearly stated my concerns, "SB 319 adds unclassified peace officers to those employees eligible for collective bargaining. Under current law, unclassified positions are not subject to the same rules as classified employees. Allowing them to participate in collective bargaining could lead to other distinctions between classified and unclassified staff being challenged. If there is a desire to include these positions in their respective collective bargaining units, the positions should be reclassified to the classified service."

SB 301 reflects no changes from SB 319. As such, my position remains unchanged. I cannot support SB 301.

For these reasons, I veto this bill and return it to you without my signature or approval.

///

///

Respectfully submitted,

JOE LOMBARDO

Governor of Nevada

## Enclosure

CC: The Honorable Stavros Anthony, President of the Senate (without enclosure)
The Honorable Steve Yeager, Speaker of the Assembly (without enclosure)
The Honorable Francisco Aguilar, Secretary of State (without enclosure)
Brendan Bucy, Secretary of the Senate (without enclosure)
Bonnie Borda Hoffecker, Chief Clerk of the Assembly (without enclosure)
Diane Thornton, Legislative Counsel Bureau, Director (without enclosure)

Asher Killian, Legislative Counsel Bureau, Legislative Counsel (without enclosure)