101 NORTH CARSON STREET CARSON CITY, NEVADA 89701 OFFICE: (775) 684-5670 FAX No.: (775) 684-5683



555 East Washington Avenue, Suite 5100 Las Vegas, Nevada 89101 Office: (702) 486-2500 Fax No.: (702) 486-2505

## Office of the Covernor

June 3, 2023

The Honorable Nicole Cannizzaro
Majority Leader of the Nevada State Senate
Nevada Legislature
401 South Carson Street
Carson City, Nevada 89701

Re: Senate Bill 251 of the 82nd Legislative Session

Dear Majority Leader Cannizzaro:

I am forwarding to you, for filing within the time limit set forth in the Nevada Constitution and without my approval, Senate Bill 251 ("SB 251"), which is titled as follows:

AN ACT relating to school districts; revising provisions governing the authority of a large school district to negotiate certain conditions of employment; revising provisions governing mandatory subjects of collective bargaining relevant to school districts; and providing other matters properly relating thereto.

SB 251 requires that local school precincts—individual schools—hire collectively-bargained for teachers and staff from a large school district if that district experiences a reduction in force or other "surplus" staffing situation. This bill would significantly restrict principals and leaders in local school precincts from hiring the individuals they believe best meet the qualifications and needs of their respective schools. Additionally, SB 251 is far too rigid in its treatment of "surplus" professionals and would require a one-size-fits-all statutory scheme that lacks the flexibility, and related potential for finding party-specific solutions, inherent in the collective-bargaining process.

Since this bill misguidedly restricts a local school precinct from hiring its chosen educational and support staff and does nothing to ensure better learning outcomes in Nevada's classrooms, I cannot support it.

For these reasons, I veto this bill and return it without my signature or approval.

///

///

///

Respectfully submitted,

JOE LOMBARDO Governor of Nevada

## Enclosure

Cc: The Honorable Stavros Anthony, President of the Senate (without enclosure)

The Honorable Steve Yeager, Speaker of the Assembly (without enclosure)

The Honorable Francisco Aguilar, Secretary of State (without enclosure)

Brendan Bucy, Secretary of the Senate (without enclosure) Susan Furlong, Chief Clerk of the Assembly (without enclosure)

Brenda Erdoes, Esq., Legislative Counsel Bureau, Director (without enclosure)

Bryan Fernley, Esq., Legislative Counsel (without enclosure)