101 NORTH CARSON STREET

CARSON CITY, NEVADA 89701-3713

Office: (775) 684-5670



1 STATE OF NEVADA WAY

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA 89119-4339

OFFICE: (702) 486-2500

Office of the Governor

June 2, 2025

The Honorable Nicole Cannizzaro
Majority Leader of the Nevada State Senate
401 South Carson Street
Carson City, Nevada 89701

Re: Senate Bill 155 of the 83rd Legislative Session

Dear Leader Cannizzaro:

I am forwarding to you, for filing within the time limit set forth in the Nevada Constitution and without my approval, Senate Bill 155 ("SB 155"), which is titled as follows:

AN ACT relating to peace officers; authorizing the employment as peace officers of persons who are legally authorized to work in the United States under federal law and have been employed as a peace officer in another state; prohibiting the Peace Officers' Standards and Training Commission from adopting certain regulations; and providing other matters properly relating thereto.

Increasing hiring opportunities for those seeking to become peace officers is an important goal inasmuch as it helps foster a culture of respect for, and trust in, law enforcement. That said, SB 155 is overbroad in its approach to addressing that issue.

All peace officers in the State of Nevada should be United States citizens. There are pathways to citizenship available to those legally in the United States. If someone wishes to serve as a peace officer, he or she should become a naturalized citizen before doing so.

Because SB 155 would allow non-United States citizens to serve as peace officers, I cannot support it.

For these reasons, I veto this bill and return it to you without my signature or approval.

Respectfully submitted,

JOE LOMBARDO

Governor of Nevada

Enclosure

CC: The Honorable Stavros Anthony, President of the Senate (without enclosure)
The Honorable Steve Yeager, Speaker of the Assembly (without enclosure)
The Honorable Francisco Aguilar, Secretary of State (without enclosure)
Brendan Bucy, Secretary of the Senate (without enclosure)
Bonnie Borda Hoffecker, Chief Clerk of the Assembly (without enclosure)
Diane Thornton, Legislative Counsel Bureau, Director (without enclosure)
Asher Killian, Legislative Counsel Bureau, Legislative Counsel (without enclosure)