101 NORTH CARSON STREET Carson City, Nevada 89701 Office: (775) 684-5670 Fax No.: (775) 684-5683



555 EAST WASHINGTON AVENUE, SUITE 5100 LAS VEGAS, NEVADA 89101 Office: (702) 486-2500 FAX No.: (702) 486-2505

## Office of the Covernor

June 16, 2023

The Honorable Francisco Aguilar Nevada Secretary of State 101 North Carson Street Carson City, Nevada 89701

## Re: Senate Bill 76 of the 82nd Legislative Session

Dear Secretary of State Aguilar:

I am forwarding to you, for filing within the time limit set forth in the Nevada Constitution and without my approval, Senate Bill 76 ("SB 76"), which is titled as follows:

AN ACT relating to hazardous materials; prohibiting, with certain exceptions, the sale and distribution of certain products containing intentionally added perfluoroalkyl and polyfluoroalkyl substances; requiring, with certain exceptions, manufacturers of cookware containing intentionally added perfluoroalkyl and polyfluoroalkyl substances to provide certain information to a customer; providing a penalty; and providing other matters properly relating thereto.

While protecting consumers from potential dangers associated with perfluoroalkyl and polyfluoroalkyl substances ("PFAs") is an important goal, SB 76 aims to accomplish too much too soon. The United States Environmental Protection Agency ("EPA") is actively preparing regulatory considerations for these chemicals which will apply to all states. Awaiting the EPA's determinations will avoid unnecessary burdens for doing business in Nevada, specifically. It will also ensure the regulations here comport with the most universally accepted protections, thresholds, and timelines to be implemented nationwide.

As such, at this juncture, it is more prudent to await federal guidance on this matter before placing a substantially increased regulatory burden on manufacturers and retailers across the State.

For these reasons, I veto this bill and return it to you without my signature or approval.

///

|||

111



## Enclosure

cc: The Honorable Stavros Anthony, President of the Senate (without enclosure) The Honorable Nicole Cannizzaro, Senate Majority Leader (without enclosure) The Honorable Steve Yeager, Speaker of the Assembly (without enclosure) Brendan Bucy, Secretary of the Senate (without enclosure) Susan Furlong, Chief Clerk of the Assembly (without enclosure) Brenda Erdoes, Esq., Legislative Counsel Bureau, Director (without enclosure) Bryan Fernley, Esq., Legislative Counsel (without enclosure)