101 NORTH CARSON STREET CARSON CITY, NEVADA 89701 OFFICE: (775) 684-5670 FAX NO.: (775) 684-5683



555 EAST WASHINGTON AVENUE, SUITE 5100 LAS VEGAS, NEVADA 89101 OFFICE: (702) 486-2500 FAX No.: (702) 486-2505

Office of the Governor

June 16, 2023

The Honorable Francisco Aguilar Nevada Secretary of State 101 North Carson Street Carson City, Nevada 89701

Re: Senate Bill 443 of the 82nd Legislative Session

Dear Secretary of State Aguilar:

I am forwarding to you, for filing within the time limit set forth in the Nevada Constitution and without my approval, Senate Bill 443 ("SB 443"), which is titled as follows:

AN ACT relating to elections; revising provisions relating to voter registration during certain periods preceding an election; requiring the Department of Motor Vehicles to have extended hours of operation in certain counties during certain periods preceding the deadline to register to vote by mail for certain elections and following the day of certain elections; prohibiting, in certain counties, the Department from requiring an appointment to obtain a driver's license or identification card during certain periods; making an appropriation to the Department of Motor Vehicles for certain security costs relating to extended hours of operation required during certain periods; and providing other matters properly relating thereto.

SB 443 would allow for insufficient proofs of residency to be used by potential electors in order to vote.

Since this bill places the sanctity and security of our elections in jeopardy, I cannot support it.

For these reasons, I veto this bill and return it to you without my signature or approval.

///

///

///

Respectfully submitted,

JOE LOMBARDO Governor of Nevada

Enclosure

cc: The Honorable Stavros Anthony, President of the Senate (without enclosure)

The Honorable Nicole Cannizzaro, Senate Majority Leader (without enclosure)

The Honorable Steve Yeager, Speaker of the Assembly (without enclosure)

Brendan Bucy, Secretary of the Senate (without enclosure) Susan Furlong, Chief Clerk of the Assembly (without enclosure)

Brenda Erdoes, Esq., Legislative Counsel Bureau, Director (without enclosure)

Bryan Fernley, Esq., Legislative Counsel (without enclosure)