101 NORTH CARSON STREET CARSON CITY, NEVADA 89701 OFFICE: (775) 684-5670 FAX NO.: (775) 684-5683



555 EAST WASHINGTON AVENUE, SUITE 5100 LAS VEGAS, NEVADA 89101 OFFICE: (702) 486-2500 FAX No.: (702) 486-2505

## Office of the Covernor

June 16, 2023

The Honorable Francisco Aguilar Nevada Secretary of State 101 North Carson Street Carson City, Nevada 89701

Re: Senate Bill 335 of the 82nd Legislative Session

Dear Secretary of State Aguilar:

I am forwarding to you, for filing within the time limit set forth in the Nevada Constitution and without my approval, Senate Bill 335 ("SB 335"), which is titled as follows:

AN ACT relating to property; authorizing tenants subject to certain actions for summary eviction to request that the court stay the action until a decision concerning an application for rental assistance is made and establishing procedures relating thereto; requiring a landlord to accept payment of rent from a tenant and rental assistance on behalf of a tenant under certain circumstances; authorizing a justice court to establish a diversion program for certain tenants subject to an action for summary eviction; and providing other matters properly relating thereto.

SB 335 would create onerous burdens in Nevada's residential renting market by requiring even more hurdles for a landlord to evict a non-compliant tenant by establishing a judicial diversion program for such tenants. Not only would this make the eviction process more time consuming, it would also make it more costly – potentially worsening availability and accessibility to residential properties for those looking to rent.

Since this bill would not serve to improve the landscape of Nevada's residential renting market, I cannot support it.

For t	hese reasons,	I veto this	bill and	return it to	you without	my signa	ture or apr	proval.

///

III

///

Respectfully submitted,

JOE LOMBARDO Governor of Nevada

## Enclosure

The Honorable Stavros Anthony, President of the Senate (without enclosure)
The Honorable Nicole Cannizzaro, Senate Majority Leader (without enclosure)
The Honorable Steve Yeager, Speaker of the Assembly (without enclosure)
Brendan Bucy, Secretary of the Senate (without enclosure)
Susan Furlong, Chief Clerk of the Assembly (without enclosure)
Brenda Erdoes, Esq., Legislative Counsel Bureau, Director (without enclosure)
Bryan Fernley, Esq., Legislative Counsel (without enclosure)