101 NORTH CARSON STREET CARSON CITY, NEVADA 89701 Office: (775) 684-5670 Fax No.: (775) 684-5683

5



555 EAST WASHINGTON AVENUE, SUITE 5100 LAS VEGAS, NEVADA 89101 Office: (702) 486-2500 FAX No.: (702) 486-2505

Office of the Covernor

June 16, 2023

The Honorable Francisco Aguilar Nevada Secretary of State 101 North Carson Street Carson City, Nevada 89701

Re: Senate Bill 275 of the 82nd Legislative Session

Dear Secretary of State Aguilar:

I am forwarding to you, for filing within the time limit set forth in the Nevada Constitution and without my approval, Senate Bill 275 ("SB 275"), which is titled as follows:

AN ACT to manufactured home parks; requiring the Housing Division of the Department of Business and Industry to calculate annually and publish a maximum annual rent increase percentage in manufactured home parks; authorizing certain persons to apply for an exemption to certain requirements relating to increases in rent; revising certain requirements related to increases in rent for certain tenancies in manufactured home parks; and providing other matters properly relating thereto.

SB 275 would apply rent control provisions to manufactured homes throughout Nevada. As has been noted when similar rent control policies have been implemented elsewhere, this would likely lead to housing shortages, reduced property maintenance, and potentially reduced property tax revenue for local governments.

As such, since the rent control provisions contained in this bill would not benefit existing manufactured home renters or owners, I cannot support it.

For these reasons, I veto this bill and return it to you without my signature or approval.

///

///

///

JOE LOMBARDO Governor of Nevada

Enclosure

cc: The Honorable Stavros Anthony, President of the Senate (without enclosure) The Honorable Nicole Cannizzaro, Senate Majority Leader (without enclosure) The Honorable Steve Yeager, Speaker of the Assembly (without enclosure) Brendan Bucy, Secretary of the Senate (without enclosure) Susan Furlong, Chief Clerk of the Assembly (without enclosure) Brenda Erdoes, Esq., Legislative Counsel Bureau, Director (without enclosure) Bryan Fernley, Esq., Legislative Counsel (without enclosure)