

555 East Washington Avenue, Suite 5100 Las Vegas, Nevada 89101 Office: (702) 486-2500 Fax No.: (702) 486-2505

## Office of the Covernor

June 16, 2023

The Honorable Francisco Aguilar Nevada Secretary of State 101 North Carson Street Carson City, Nevada 89701

Re: Senate Bill 272 of the 82nd Legislative Session

Dear Secretary of State Aguilar:

I am forwarding to you, for filing within the time limit set forth in the Nevada Constitution and without my approval, Senate Bill 272 ("SB 272"), which is titled as follows:

AN ACT relating to governmental administration; requiring a state agency or local government to post certain information on its Internet website relating to certain purchasing contracts, performance contracts and contracts for public works; and providing other matters properly relating thereto.

SB 272 is an admirably motivated piece of legislation in that it is important we ensure Nevada's business environment is safe and open for everyone – regardless of race, sex, gender or sexual identity, or veteran status. This bill would require government agencies to post information regarding the previous fiscal year on their websites including, among other things: 1) the total number of contracts awarded by the agency to minority owned, veteran-owned, women-owned, or LGBTQ-owned businesses; and 2) the total dollar amount paid to such businesses. That said, the intended outcome of posting this data is unclear because a preference system is already in place. Without a clear objective, this bill's burden on existing government is unjustifiable.

For these reasons, I veto this bill and return it to you without my signature or approval.

Respectfully submitted,

JOE LOMBARDO Governor of Nevada ///

## Enclosure

CC: The Honorable Stavros Anthony, President of the Senate (without enclosure)
The Honorable Nicole Cannizzaro, Senate Majority Leader (without enclosure)
The Honorable Steve Yeager, Speaker of the Assembly (without enclosure)
Brendan Bucy, Secretary of the Senate (without enclosure)
Susan Furlong, Chief Clerk of the Assembly (without enclosure)
Brenda Erdoes, Esq., Legislative Counsel Bureau, Director (without enclosure)
Bryan Fernley, Esq., Legislative Counsel (without enclosure)