101 NORTH CARSON STREET CARSON CITY, NEVADA 89701 OFFICE: (775) 684-5670 FAX No.: (775) 684-5683



555 East Washington Avenue, Suite 5100 Las Vegas, Nevada 89101 Office: (702) 486-2500 Fax No.: (702) 486-2505

## Office of the Covernor

June 16, 2023

The Honorable Francisco Aguilar Nevada Secretary of State 101 North Carson Street Carson City, Nevada 89701

Re: Senate Bill 104 of the 82nd Legislative Session

Dear Secretary of State Aguilar:

I am forwarding to you, for filing within the time limit set forth in the Nevada Constitution and without my approval, Senate Bill 104 ("SB 104"), which is titled as follows:

AN ACT relating to vehicles; revising provisions relating to certain traffic and related violations; revising provisions relating to the suspension of the driver's license of a person; and providing other matters properly relating thereto.

SB 104 is largely predicated upon the changes made by AB 116 (2021). Those changes were not fully implemented until January 1st of this year. Though some of the ideas contained in this bill may be well-intended, we should allow more time to gain a complete understanding of that bill's effects. Moreover, even if these infractions are determined through civil adjudication, judges should still be empowered to suspend or uphold the suspension of a driver's license for any legitimate purpose. Finally, posting bond in these situations is necessary to ensure judicial resources are not wasted due to non-appearance.

As such, since SB 104 would encroach upon judicial discretion, restrict court's resource management capabilities, and since the changes in AB 116 have not had time to sufficiently develop, I cannot support this bill.

For t	hese reasons,	I veto this b	oill and	l return it to	you without	: my signa	ture or approva

///

///

///

Respectfully submitted,

JOE LOMBARDO Governor of Nevada

## Enclosure

The Honorable Stavros Anthony, President of the Senate (without enclosure)
The Honorable Nicole Cannizzaro, Senate Majority Leader (without enclosure)
The Honorable Steve Yeager, Speaker of the Assembly (without enclosure)
Brendan Bucy, Secretary of the Senate (without enclosure)
Susan Furlong, Chief Clerk of the Assembly (without enclosure)
Brenda Erdoes, Esq., Legislative Counsel Bureau, Director (without enclosure)
Bryan Fernley, Esq., Legislative Counsel (without enclosure)