101 NORTH CARSON STREET CARSON CITY, NEVADA 89701 Office: (775) 684-5670 Fax No.: (775) 684-5683



555 EAST WASHINGTON AVENUE, SUITE 5100 LAS VEGAS, NEVADA 89101 Office: (702) 486-2500 FAX No.: (702) 486-2505

Office of the Covernor

June 16, 2023

The Honorable Francisco Aguilar Nevada Secretary of State 101 North Carson Street Carson City, Nevada 89701

Re: Assembly Bill 74 of the 82nd Legislative Session

Dear Secretary of State Aguilar:

I am forwarding to you, for filing within the time limit set forth in the Nevada Constitution and without my approval, Assembly Bill 74 ("AB 74"), which is titled as follows:

AN ACT relating to public bodies; authorizing the Board of Regents of the University of Nevada to enter into an agreement to affiliate with a public or private entity for certain purposes; authorizing a public body to enter into a public-private partnership in connection with certain facilities; and providing other matters properly relating thereto.

AB 74 would present a burdensome expansion regarding the requirement of prevailing wages on certain projects. Currently, the Nevada System of Higher Education (the "System") is required to pay prevailing wages when the estimated cost of a project is greater than \$100,000. AB 74, however, would require the payment of prevailing wages on any construction project undertaken by the System and would additionally require prevailing wages on partnerships between the System and private entities.

Since AB 74 would lead to higher costs and increase the chances for delays, even on the System's smaller-scale construction projects, I cannot support it.

For these reasons, I veto this bill and return it without my signature or approval.

///

|||

///

Respectfully submitted,

JOE LOMBARDO Governor of Nevada

Enclosure

cc: The Honorable Stavros Anthony, President of the Senate (without enclosure) The Honorable Nicole Cannizzaro, Senate Majority Leader (without enclosure) The Honorable Steve Yeager, Speaker of the Assembly (without enclosure) Brendan Bucy, Secretary of the Senate (without enclosure) Susan Furlong, Chief Clerk of the Assembly (without enclosure) Brenda Erdoes, Esq., Legislative Counsel Bureau, Director (without enclosure) Bryan Fernley, Esq., Legislative Counsel (without enclosure)