101 NORTH CARSON STREET CARSON CITY, NEVADA 89701 OFFICE: (775) 684-5670 FAX NO.: (775) 684-5683



555 EAST WASHINGTON AVENUE, SUITE 5100 LAS VEGAS, NEVADA 89101 OFFICE: (702) 486-2500 FAX No.: (702) 486-2505

Office of the Governor

June 16, 2023

The Honorable Francisco Aguilar Nevada Secretary of State 101 North Carson Street Carson City, Nevada 89701

Re: Assembly Bill 527 of the 82nd Legislative Session

Dear Secretary of State Aguilar:

I am forwarding to you, for filing within the time limit set forth in the Nevada Constitution and without my approval, Assembly Bill 527 ("AB 527") which is titled as follows:

AN ACT relating to state financial administration; revising requirements relating to the preparation of the state budget; and providing other matters properly relating thereto.

This bill requires the Governor to consider appropriations to the budgets of the Legislative and Judicial branches as well as those of the Public Employees' Retirement System and the Tahoe Regional Planning Agency in the calculation of the five percent minimum ending fund balance for purposes of submitting the Governor's Recommended Budget to the Legislature.

While these are currently considered, the large increase in the Legislative budget for the upcoming biennium and the inability of the Governor to have any control over amounts when considering the priorities of State government, especially during the times of an economic downturn, would potentially put the Governor in the position of having to cut programs or personnel to balance a budget. Further, the Legislature is not bound to the five percent minimum ending fund balance so their merit can be decided during the Legislative session.

Since this bill decreases Nevada's flexibility in the event we experience economic uncertainty, I cannot support it.

For these reasons, I veto this bill and return it to you without my signature or approval.

///

///

///

Respectfully submitted,

JOE LOMBARDO
Governor of Nevada

Enclosure

The Honorable Stavros Anthony, President of the Senate (without enclosure)
The Honorable Nicole Cannizzaro, Senate Majority Leader (without enclosure)
The Honorable Steve Yeager, Speaker of the Assembly (without enclosure)
Brendan Bucy, Secretary of the Senate (without enclosure)
Susan Furlong, Chief Clerk of the Assembly (without enclosure)
Brenda Erdoes, Esq., Legislative Counsel Bureau, Director (without enclosure)
Bryan Fernley, Esq., Legislative Counsel (without enclosure)