101 NORTH CARSON STREET CARSON CITY, NEVADA 89701 OFFICE: (775) 684-5670 FAX NO.: (775) 684-5683



555 EAST WASHINGTON AVENUE, SUITE 5100 LAS VEGAS, NEVADA 89101 OFFICE: (702) 486-2500 FAX NO.: (702) 486-2505

Office of the Governor

June 16, 2023

The Honorable Francisco Aguilar Nevada Secretary of State 101 North Carson Street Carson City, Nevada 89701

Re: Assembly Bill 242 of the 82nd Legislative Session

Dear Secretary of State Aguilar:

I am forwarding to you, for filing within the time limit set forth in the Nevada Constitution and without my approval, Assembly Bill 242 ("AB 242"), which is titled as follows:

AN ACT relating to elections; requiring ballots and votes be counted using a mechanical voting system; revising provisions relating to accommodations for certain voters who are elderly or have a disability; and providing other matters properly relating thereto.

AB 242 is well intended in that it aims to clarify and provide uniformity to the systems jurisdictions are permitted to use for casting, registering, and recording votes. However, the bill's prohibition against any hand-counting of ballots is an impermissible transgression upon the right and, indeed, duty, of duly elected county officials to ensure their vote-counting procedures are best-aligned with the needs of their electorate.

Since this bill needlessly restricts the autonomy provided to county officials to conduct the functions necessary to their elected position, I cannot support it.

For these	reasons,	I veto this	bill and	return	it to	you	without	my	signature	or	approva	al.
///												

/// ///

,,,

///

Respectfully submitted,

JOE LOMBARDO Governor of Nevada

Enclosure

CC: The Honorable Stavros Anthony, President of the Senate (without enclosure)
The Honorable Nicole Cannizzaro, Senate Majority Leader (without enclosure)
The Honorable Steve Yeager, Speaker of the Assembly (without enclosure)
Brendan Bucy, Secretary of the Senate (without enclosure)
Susan Furlong, Chief Clerk of the Assembly (without enclosure)
Brenda Erdoes, Esq., Legislative Counsel Bureau, Director (without enclosure)

Bryan Fernley, Esq., Legislative Counsel (without enclosure)