

555 EAST WASHINGTON AVENUE, SUITE 5100 LAS VEGAS, NEVADA 89101 OFFICE: (702) 486-2500 FAX No.: (702) 486-2505

Office of the Governor

June 16, 2023

The Honorable Francisco Aguilar Nevada Secretary of State 101 North Carson Street Carson City, Nevada 89701

Re: Assembly Bill 172 of the 82nd Legislative Session

Dear Secretary of State Aguilar:

I am forwarding to you, for filing within the time limit set forth in the Nevada Constitution and without my approval, Assembly Bill 172 ("AB 172"), which is titled as follows:

AN ACT relating to collective bargaining; requiring, with certain exceptions, each school district to semiannually provide each employee organization recognized by the school district certain information relating to each employee of the bargaining unit represented by the employee organization; requiring collective bargaining between the Executive Department of State Government and classified employees to include matters relating to parking and transportation; and providing other matters properly relating thereto.

AB 172 creates onerous requirements related to mandatory subjects of bargaining which would place certain employees on uneven footing with their counterparts. Additionally, though the bill attempted to address privacy concerns by allowing employees to opt-out of disclosing their private information to various employee-organizations, this measure is insufficient in its actual addressal of those privacy issues. Employees should have the right to affirmatively confirm their choice to opt-in to such an organization rather than the other way around.

Since this bill is inappropriately expansive in its approach to addressing certain collective bargaining issues, I cannot support it.

For these reasons, I veto this bill and return it to you without my signature or approval.

III

///

///

Respectfully submitted,

JOE LOMBARDO Governor of Nevada

Enclosure

CC: The Honorable Stavros Anthony, President of the Senate (without enclosure)
The Honorable Nicole Cannizzaro, Senate Majority Leader (without enclosure)
The Honorable Steve Yeager, Speaker of the Assembly (without enclosure)
Brendan Bucy, Secretary of the Senate (without enclosure)
Susan Furlong, Chief Clerk of the Assembly (without enclosure)
Brenda Erdoes, Esq., Legislative Counsel Bureau, Director (without enclosure)
Bryan Fernley, Esq., Legislative Counsel (without enclosure)