Governor Sisolak, Nevada Legislature announce appointments to Innovation Zones Joint Special Committee

Carson City, NV - July 16, 2021

Today, Nevada Governor Steve Sisolak and leaders of the Nevada Legislature announced appointments to the Joint Special Committee charged with reviewing, providing analysis, and exploration of the Innovation Zones proposal.

Appointments to this Joint Special Committee include Senator Roberta Lange, Senator Mo Denis, Senator James Settelmeyer, Assemblywoman Teresa Benitez-Thompson, Assemblyman Howard Watts, and Assemblyman Philip P.K. O’Neill.

The Joint Special Committee’s first meeting will take place on Thursday, August 12, 2021. The committee will meet at least once a month and will submit a report of the results of its work and any recommendations to the Governor by December 31, 2021.

“I am grateful to our leaders who will be part of this committee and work to provide further analysis and recommendation on the concept of Innovations Zones,” said Governor Sisolak. “My goal remains the same - to have the ability to create and attract advanced technology industries prepared to significantly invest in Nevada’s success and create good-paying jobs. I look forward to the Joint Special Committees’ work and recommendations.”

"We appreciate the opportunity during this interim to reexamine how the state approaches job creation and economic development as we continue our state’s recovery. The launch of this committee will allow for a thorough vetting of new ideas, including careful consideration of how those proposals will impact local communities, the environment, labor and workforce development, and our long-term economic growth,” said Senate Majority Leader Nicole Cannizzaro.

"Central to our state coming out of this pandemic stronger is the need to be creative in looking at diversifying our economy. This committee is a tool designed to further explore options to accomplish that and we look forward to working together with the Governor and the Senate as well as business and industry stakeholders during the interim,” said Assembly Speaker Jason Frierson.

On May 6, 2021, the Senate Committee on Legislative Operations introduced Senate Concurrent Resolution 11 (SCR 11) to create a joint special committee to analyze and explore the Innovation Zones proposal beyond the 2021 Legislative Session.



Meghin Delaney
Communications Director