Seal of the State of Nevada

COVID-19 DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY DIRECTIVE 004

WHEREAS, on March 12, 2020, I Steve Sisolak, Governor of the State of Nevada issued a Declaration of Emergency to facilitate the State's response to COVID19 pandemic; and

WHEREAS, on March 13, 2020, Donald J. Trump, President of the United States declared a nationwide emergency pursuant to Sec. 501 (b) of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. 5121-5207 (the "Stafford Act"); and

WHEREAS, Nevada Revised Statutes, Chapter 414, provides that in times of emergency the Governor may exercise all powers necessary to promote and secure the safety and protection of the civilian population; and

WHEREAS, the World Health Organization, and the United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has advised that there is a correlation between density of persons gathered and the risk of transmission of COVID-19; and

WHEREAS, I have ordered all state offices to be closed to the public as soon as possible; and

WHEREAS, close proximity to other persons over an extended period is currently contraindicated by public health and medical best practices to combat COVID-19; and

WHEREAS, the citizens of the State of Nevada are legally required to perform many duties, including, but not limited to, obtaining and renewing driver's licenses, registering vehicles for operation on Nevada's roadways, and obtaining licenses for various occupations through the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV); and

WHEREAS, many citizens of the State of Nevada must carry out these legal duties at the offices of the DMV located throughout the State of Nevada; and

WHEREAS, it is not in the best interest of the health and safety of the citizens of the State of Nevada to be present at the offices of the DMV throughout the State of Nevada; and

WHEREAS, Article 5, Section 1 of the Nevada Constitution provides: "The Supreme executive power of this State, shall vest in a Chief Magistrate who shall be Governor of the State of Nevada.":

NOW, THEREFORE, by the authority vested in me as Governor by the Constitution and laws of the State of Nevada, and the United States, and pursuant to the March 12, 2020 Emergency Declaration,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED THAT:

COVID-19 Emergency Declaration Directive 004
Extending Licenses that Expire between March 16, 2020 and April 30, 2020 for 90 Days
 SECTION 1:  DMV offices are required to be closed to the public until at least April 16, 2020 to minimize the spread of the COVID-19 virus.
 SECTION 2:  The expiration date on all non-commercial and commercial driver licenses, non­ commercial and commercial instruction permits, identification cards, or Driver Authorization Cards (DAC) issued pursuant to NRS Chapter 483 will be extended for a period of 90 days from the expiration date shown on the license, permit, identification card, or DAC for those licenses, permits, identification cards, or DAC expiring during the time period of March 16, 2020 through April 30, 2020. The DMV will take no administrative action against a person or business pursuant to NRS Chapter 483 during the time the offices are closed. All applications for driver licenses, instruction permits, identification cards, or DAC renewals will be processed once DMV offices reopen without penalties being applied if renewed prior to the end of the 90-day extension period.
 SECTION 3:  Residents are strongly encouraged to timely renew their vehicle registrations and off­ highway vehicle registrations through the DMV's website, portal, or kiosks. The expiration date on all vehicle or off-highway vehicle registrations issued pursuant to NRS Chapters 482 or 490 will be extended for a period of 90 days from the expiration date shown on the registration for those registrations expiring during the time period of March 16, 2020 through April 30, 2020. The DMV will take no administrative action against a person or business pursuant to NRS Chapters 482 or 490 during the time the DMV offices are closed. All applications for vehicle registration or off­highway vehicle registration renewal will be processed once the offices reopen without penalties being applied if renewed prior to the end of the 90-day extension period. Pursuant to NRS Chapter 485, the DMV office closures and 90-day extension for vehicle or off-highway vehicle registration does not relieve residents of their responsibility to maintain continuous vehicle liability insurance coverage.
 SECTION 4:  The expiration date on all active business and occupational licenses, including those dependent on the payment of a renewal fee, regulatory fine, or submission of mandatory reporting forms, issued by the DMV for new and used car dealerships, salespersons, automobile wreckers and dismantlers, body shops, garages, emissions stations, emissions inspectors, drive schools, short- and long-term lessors, and salvage pools, are extended for a period of 90 days from the expiration date shown on the license or registration for those licenses or registrations expiring during the time period of March 16, 2020 and April 30, 2020. The DMV will take no administrative action against a person or business pursuant to NRS Chapters 482, 483, 487, or 445B during the time the DMV offices are closed. All applications for business license renewals will be processed once the offices reopen without penalties being applied if renewed prior to the end of the 90-day extension period.
 SECTION 5: All autonomous vehicle testing licenses issued pursuant to NRS Chapter 482A are extended for a period of 90 days from the expiration date shown for those testing licenses expiring during the time period of March 16, 2020 through on the testing license April 30, 2020. All new test licenses or renewal licenses will be processed once the offices reopen without penalties being applied if renewed prior to the end of the 90-day extension period.
 SECTION 6: The DMV's responsibilities under NRS Chapters 239, 481, 482, 487, and 706 for vehicle appraisals, vehicle inspections, issuing salvage titles and responding to records requests, including public records requests, are suspended until the DMV offices reopen. 
 SECTION 7: The expiration date on all motor carrier active and temporary credentials issued pursuant to NRS Chapters 365, 366, 482, and 706 will be extended for a period of 90 days from the expiration date shown on the credential for those credentials expiring during the time period of March 16, 2020 through April 30, 2020. The DMV will take no administrative action against a person or business under NRS Chapters 365, 366, 482, or 706 during tl1e time the DMV offices are closed. All applications for motor carrier credentials will be processed once the DMV offices reopen without penalties being applied if renewed prior to the end of the 90-day extension period. 
 SECTION 8: This Directive covers specific services that are necessary to extend to Nevada's residents during this challenging time. Due to the breadth of services provided by the DMV, the above list may not be all-inclusive. Therefore, for all legal functions and duties of the DMV, the Director of the DMV is authorized to extend deadlines, waive penalties, and take any other appropriate actions necessary to lessen the impact on customers and state employees caused by tl1e closure of the DMV's offices statewide.

 

Footer State Seal

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and caused the Great Seal of the State of Nevada to be affixed at the State Capitol in Carson City, this 20th day of March, in the year two thousand twenty.