Proclamation Header


WHEREAS, Thurgood Marshall was sworn in as the first African American U.S. Supreme Court Justice on October 2, 1967, and he had previously argued, and won, the historic Brown v. Board of Education case in the Supreme Court; and

WHEREAS, just over two years later, on October 29, 1969 the U.S. Supreme Court ordered immediate desegregation of schools, superseding the previous ‘with all deliberate speed’ ruling; and

WHEREAS, continuing Marshall’s legacy and providing a safe and respectful learning environment for all students is a priority in Nevada and the opportunity to bring together students to improve school climate is a benefit to all; and

WHEREAS, during the 2015 legislative session, the largest education reform in Nevada’s history was implemented, which directly improved access to a more equitable education for all students, including the mandate for multi-cultural academic standards and the launch of Victory schools for high-risk students; and

WHEREAS, during the 2017 legislative session, additional legislation was signed into law to continue to promote education equity reforms and allow the Silver State to better address the needs of students with the highest proficiency gaps; and

WHEREAS, the State of Nevada is home to a diverse student population, a teaching staff that is culturally competent, and a robust curriculum that enhances multi-cultural education; and

WHEREAS, the Clark County Black Caucus and the Clark County School District annually bring together students from across Southern Nevada to emphasize the role they play in achieving education success and contributions to creating a positive school climate, and to recognize leaders that contribute to promoting education equity in the Silver State by demonstrating their commitment to a quality education for all students;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, BRIAN SANDOVAL, GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF NEVADA, do hereby proclaim  October 29, 2018 as



 Proclamation Seal Only                         Signatures of Governor Brian Sandoval, Barbara Cegaske and Scott Anderson