Proclamation Header


WHEREAS, the Nevada Legislature established the University of Nevada, Las Vegas in 1957, then known as "Nevada Southern," born from a community's rebel spirit and shared recognition that strong universities lead to a stronger Nevada; and

WHEREAS, the University of Nevada, Las Vegas marks the 60th anniversary of its campus, evolving from meager beginnings when it was co-housed in the Las Vegas High School auditorium, then moving to a 13,000-square foot building funded by a $200,000 State appropriation and about $50,000 in community donations; and

WHEREAS, the State's support of UNL V, from its first investment in 1955 to providing ongoing operating and program funding critical to immediate and long term success, has been essential to Southern Nevada's thriving economy and diverse population; and

WHEREAS, Nevada is a destination of choice for students across the nation and the world, and UNL V's initial enrollment of 500 students reached 30,000 this fall, including students from 46 countries; and

WHEREAS, UNLV celebrated the graduation of its first 29 students as its "Centennial Class" in recognition of Nevada's 100th year as a state in 1964, and in 2017 boasts an alumni family of 115,000, with more than 60 percent of Rebels staying in the Silver State and working infields including education, hotel and tourism, healthcare and as business owners; and

WHEREAS, UNLV is a valued partner in Southern Nevada and across the state, and thanks to education advocate Assemblywoman Maude Frazier, who was a founding force behind the creation of the school, the University of Nevada, Las Vegas has become a top tier public research university, extending its global reach and contributing to Nevada through research, academics, economic activity, and community partnerships;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, BRIAN SANDOVAL, GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF NEVADA, do hereby proclaim  September 10, 2017 as a day in recognition of the

 University of Nevada, Las Vegas


 Proclamation Seal Only                         Signatures of Governor Brian Sandoval, Barbara Cegaske & Wayne Thorley