Governor Sandoval Announces Committee on Energy Choice Membership


Mari N. St. Martin
Communications Director
(775) 684-5670
CARSON CITY, NV - April 03, 2017

Governor Brian Sandoval today announced his appointments to the Governor’s Committee on Energy Choice. Sandoval named Lieutenant Governor Mark Hutchison Chairman of the Committee and has brought together a broad range of energy experts, consumer advocates, and stakeholders. Originally announced as part of Governor Sandoval’s State of the State Address, the Committee will be tasked with making recommendations and proposals for actions that may need to be taken should the Energy Choice Initiative pass a second time and be amended into the Nevada Constitution.

“A second passage of the Energy Choice Initiative will lead to a major transformation in Nevada’s energy regulation structure. This measure will directly affect how Nevadans consume and receive their energy which includes turning on lights, powering our hospitals and illuminating streetlights in our neighborhoods. Ensuring stability and reliability in our state’s energy market is important for Nevada families and businesses,” said Governor Brian Sandoval. “This is an elite group of community advocates, business leaders, and energy experts who have an interest in applying any new policy in a way that would secure our state’s energy future. I am grateful for their dedication of both time and focus to this important issue. The Committee will begin a year-long analysis and plan for a path forward should the Initiative pass so consumers and providers alike will be prepared to navigate the complexities of its implementation.”

“I'm looking forward to working alongside the talented group of individuals selected to serve on the Governor’s Committee on Energy Choice,” said Lieutenant Governor Mark Hutchison. “The level of expertise and dedication brought by the committee members will no doubt provide Nevadans a thoughtful analysis with which to make their decision in the potential deregulation of Nevada's energy markets.”

Energy Choice Committee Members

Chairman - Lieutenant Governor Mark Hutchison
Attorney General Adam Laxalt
State Senator James Settelmeyer
State Senator Kelvin Atkinson
Assemblyman James Oscarson
Assemblyman Chris Brooks
Eric Witkoski, Bureau of Consumer Protection, Consumer’s Advocate
Dave Luttrell, General Manager, Lincoln County Power District
Daniel Witt, Senior Manager of Business Development and Policy, Tesla
Adam Kramer, Executive Vice President of Strategy, Switch
Andy Abboud, Senior VP of Government Relations, Las Vegas Sands Corp.
Erik Hansen, Director, Energy Procurement, Wynn Las Vegas
Dana Bennett, President, Nevada Mining Association
Paul Caudill, Chief Executive Officer, NV Energy
Jeremy Newman, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers
Ann Silver, President, The Chamber of Commerce of Reno Sparks Northern Nevada
Kevin Hooks, Chief Executive Officer, Las Vegas Urban League
Barry Gold, Government Relations Director for AARP
Kevin Sagara, President of Renewables, Sempra
Darren Daboda, Chairman, Moapa Band of Paiutes
Jeremy Susac, Vice President of Government Affairs, Lennar Ventures
Jennifer Taylor, Executive Director, Clean Energy Project
Steve Hill, Executive Director, Governor’s Office of Economic Development, Ex Officio
Angie Dykema, Director, Governor’s Office of Energy, Ex Officio
Joe Reynolds, Chairman, Public Utilities Commission of Nevada, Ex Officio


On November 8, 2016, the voters of Nevada approved Ballot Question 3: The Energy Choice Initiative, which would amend the Nevada Constitution if voters approve the Initiative again in the 2018 general election. Nevada voters supported a State policy that “electricity markets be open and competitive so that all electricity customers are afforded meaningful choice among different providers, and that economic and regulatory burdens be minimized in order to promote competition and choices in the electric energy market.”


Office of the Governor . 101 North Carson Street . Carson City, NV 89701 . (775) 684-5670
Grant Sawyer State BUilding . 555 East Washington St., Suite 5100 . Las Vegas, NV 89101 . (702) 486-2500