Sandoval Signs Executive Order Creating Southern Nevada Tourism Infrastructure Committee


Mari St. Martin
Communications Director
(775) 684-5670
Carson City, NV - July 06, 2015

Governor Brian Sandoval today signed Executive Order 2015-09 creating the Southern Nevada Tourism Infrastructure Committee. The purpose of the Committee is to bring key community leaders and stakeholders together to identify and prioritize tourism improvement projects in southern Nevada, explore potential funding mechanisms to support new tourism-related initiatives, and submit a report to the Governor by July 31, 2016 outlining the Committee’s recommendations.

“Nevada has served as the standard bearer and premiere destination for global tourism, gaming, and conventions for decades. There is no destination in the world that can rival the experience that millions travel to Nevada for annually, and that means that we must strive to push forward and continue to lead this international industry into the next generation of travel and tourism,” said Governor Brian Sandoval. “We are fortunate to have many of the brightest minds in gaming and hospitality, as well as experienced and capable community leaders who are ready to meet the challenges of a changing market and identify and embrace the potential within the industry. This Executive Order represents a formal step forward which will enable this critical industry to progress while ensuring that we remain the world’s epicenter for travel and tourism.”

Governor Sandoval will appoint the following individuals to the Committee:

Chairman of the Committee, Executive Director of the Governor’s Office of Economic Development, Steve Hill
Vice Chairman of the Committee, President of the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, Len Jessup
Mayor of the City of Las Vegas, Carolyn Goodman
Chairman of the Clark County Commission, Steve Sisolak
President and Chief Executive Officer of the Las Vegas Chamber of Commerce, Kristin McMillan
Representatives of the Nevada Resort Association:
Caesars Entertainment, Tom Jenkin
Boyd Gaming, Bill Noonan
MGM Resorts International, Bill Hornbuckle
Wynn Resorts, Kim Sinatra
Las Vegas Sands Corporation, George Markantonis
Stations Casinos, Mike Sloan

The Committee will be assisted by a non-voting Technical Advisory Committee composed of the following:

City Manager of the City of Las Vegas, Betsy Fretwell
Manager of Clark County, Don Burnette
General Manager of the Regional Transportation Commission of Southern Nevada, Tina Quigley
Director of Aviation of McCarran International Airport, Rosemary Vassiliadis
President and Chief Executive Officer of the Las Vegas Conventions and Visitors Authority, Rossi Ralenkotter
An expert in economic and financial analysis appointed by the Chairman of the Committee


Office of the Governor . 101 North Carson Street . Carson City, NV 89701 . (775) 684-5670
Grant Sawyer State Office Building . 555 E. Washington, Ste. 5100 . Las Vegas, NV 89101 . (702) 486-2500