Sandoval Announces Membership to the Commission to help improve Public Education Efficiency


Mari N. St. Martin
Communications Director
(775) 684-5670
CARSON CITY, NV - November 25, 2015

Governor Brian Sandoval today announced the appointed members of the Spending and Government Efficiency (SAGE) Commission for K-12 public education. Passed by the 78th Session of the Nevada Legislature and signed into law by Governor Sandoval, Assembly Bill 421 created the SAGE Commission as one of many public education spending accountability measures. The SAGE Commission represents a diverse group of leaders across the state with deep experience and expertise in K-12 and higher education, government, public policy, operations, finance, and community development.

“This legislative session, we made an unprecedented investment in Nevada’s public education system and implemented systemic reforms and accountability measures. I believe that the pursuit of providing a high-quality education for all students should also include regular assessments of how we can best use our limited resources and maximize taxpayer dollars,” said Governor Brian Sandoval. “I am confident that the Commission will bring a thoughtful diverse perspective and help identify areas of improvement to the state’s delivery of education.”

The SAGE Commission is tasked with making recommendations to the Governor, identifying areas in which increased efficiencies may be found, and any other means by which public education can be improved. The first meeting will be held on December 1, 2015, in Las Vegas, Nevada. Members of the Commission were selected by Legislative Leadership and Governor Brian Sandoval. Chief Strategy Officer, Dale Erquiaga, will be serving as Chairman of the Commission.

Appointed Membership:

Dale Erquiaga: Chief Strategy Officer, Office of the Governor
Pat Hickey: Member of the Nevada State Assembly
Glenn Christenson: Chairman of Las Vegas Global Economic Alliance
Dr. Beverly Mathis: Director of Literacy, Early Learning & Family Engagement, Public Education Foundation
Maria Gatti: Executive Director, Philanthropy & Comm Engagement for MGM Resorts Int'l
John Guedry: CEO, Bank of Nevada;
Pastor Marta Poling-Goldenne: Nevadans for the Common Good
Matt McCarty: General Manager, TownePlace Suites by Marriott
Kathy Harney: Retired Clark County School District Employee
Sylvia Villalva: Retired Clark County School District Employee
Samantha Morris: Small business owner & Treasurer, B & B Fence Company
Bill Noonan: Senior Vice President of industry & Governmental Affairs for Boyd Gaming Corporation                 


Office of the Governor . 101 North Carson Street . Carson City, NV 89701 . (775) 684-5670
Grant Sawyer State BUilding . 555 East Washington St., Suite 5100 . Las Vegas, NV 89101 . (702) 486-2500