Media Advisory - Sandoval Announces Cabinet Reading Week



Mac Bybee
(775) 684-5679
Carson City, NV - March 03, 2014

To kick off Nevada Reading Month, Governor Brian Sandoval and Cabinet members will read to schools across Nevada March 3rd -7th. Also, as part of our state’s sesquicentennial celebration, the Nevada Department of Education is sponsoring “Nevada Reads” – a concerted effort to read in 150 schools across the state in honor of the sesquicentennial celebration.

Governor Brian Sandoval will be reading to a first grade class at C.T. Sewell Elementary School located at 700 E. Lake Mead Drive, Henderson from 10:00am to 10:30am on Tuesday, March 4. Members of the press seeking to cover this event should arrive at 9:45am and ask for Assistant Principal Holli Ratliff.

WHAT: Governor Brian Sandoval reading to a first grade classroom at C.T. Sewell Elementary School 
WHERE: C.T. Sewell Elementary School, 700 E. Lake Mead Dr., Henderson 
WHEN: Tuesday, March 4 from 10:00am to 10:30am. 

*Members of the press should arrive at 9:45am and ask for Assistant Principal Holli Ratliff*

Cabinet Members will be visiting schools throughout the week. Please contact individual Cabinet Members for further details.


  • Leo Drozdoff (Natural Resources) – Fremont Elementary School, Carson City, NV.
  • Jim Wright (Public Safety) – Dyer Elementary School, Esmeralda County; Jacks Valley Elementary School, Douglas County.
  • Tony Wasley (Wildlife) – Sarah Winnemucca Elementary School, Reno, NV.
  • Frank Woodbeck (Employment, Training and Rehabilitation) - Walter Bracken Elementary School, Wasden Elementary School, Rex Bell Elementary School; Clark County. 
  • Kat Miller (Veterans) – Elm Crest Elementary School, Washoe County; East Valley Elementary School, Lyon County.
  • Troy Dillard (DMV) – Cornerstone Christian Academy, Clark County; Silver Sands Montessori, Clark County.
  • Claudia Vecchio (Tourism) – Oasis Academy, Fallon, NV; Lovelock Elementary School, Lovelock, NV.
  • Bruce Breslow (Business and Industry) – Lloyd Diedrichson Elementary School, Washoe County; Marvin Moss Elementary School, Washoe County.
  • Chris Nielsen (Taxation) – Brookfield Elementary School, Washoe County; Caughlin Ranch Elementary School, Washoe County.
  • Sherry Rupert ( NV Indian Commission) - Piñon Hills Elementary School, Douglas County.
  • Dan Klaich (NSHE) - Smithridge Elementary School, Washoe County.
  • Steve Woodbury (GOED) - Al Seeliger Elementary School, Carson City, NV.
  • Paul Thomsen (Energy) - Huffaker Elementary School, Washoe County.
  • Mike Willden (HHS) - Winnemucca Grammar School, Humboldt County; Battle Mountain Elementary School, Lander County; Crescent Valley Elementary School, Eureka County. 
  • Rudy Malfabon (NDOT) - Hawthorne Elementary School, Mineral County.
  • Greg Cox (Corrections) - John Bonner Elementary School, Clark County; Dean Petersen Elementary School, Clark County, NV.
  • Vance Farrow (GOED) - Marion B Earl Elementary School, Clark County. 
  • Jennifer Cooper (GOED) - Nate Mack Elementary School, Clark County.
  • Des Craig (GOED) – Dayton Elementary School, Lyon County.
  • Lyndee Cicnon (GOED) – Roger M. Bryan Elementary School, Clarence Piggott Elementary School, Clark County.
  • Tom Wilczek (GOED) – Fritsch Elementary School, Carson City, NV.
  • Brad Mamer (GOED) – Judy and John L. Goolsby Elementary School, Clark County.
  • Bonnie Lind (GOED) – Hunter Lake Elementary School, Washoe County.
  • Dave Gustafson (Administration) – Miguel Sepulveda Elementary School, Washoe County.
  • Bob Potts (GOED) Sue Morrow Elementary School, Clark County.
  • Dale Erquiaga (Education) – Empire Elementary School, Carson City, NV; Veterans Memorial STEM Academy, Double Diamond Elementary School, Washoe County.
  • Gerald Gardner (Governor’s Chief of Staff) – Bordewich Bray Elementary School, Carson City, NV. 



Office of the Governor . 101 North Carson Street . Carson City, NV 89701 | (775) 684-5670
Grant Sawyer State Office Building . 555 East Washington, Suite 5100 . Las Vegas, NV 89101 (702) 486-2500